Thornview staff2017-03-10T11:01:59+00:00

Staff

Continuous Staff Development and training

Prestige College has continuous in service evaluation and training to ensure the best possible learning opportunities by knowledgeable and well equipped teachers. We believe that staff should facilitate learning in an effective way to improve our learners’ results. Brain based strategies, brain gym to enhance learning and Multiple Intelligence practices is our way of living.

Schools spend a lot of time and money to provide learning opportunities for teachers who come back inspired and motivated. The question we ask is how much of the training gets transferred to the classroom and other teachers in the learning community.

Peter Cole said, “…there is far too much going to workshops, taking short courses and the like and far too little learning while doing the work. Learning external to the job can represent a useful input, but if it is not in balance and in concert with learning in the setting in which you work, the learning will end up being superficial.”¹ This sums up our philosophy on staff development.

Prestige College Teachers attend comprehensive, needs-focused, continuous professional development which is delivered and supported in the school by the principal, deputy-principals and senior staff members. Ongoing coaching, modeling and feedback form the cornerstone of improvement in pedagogy and effective practice to improve our learners’ results. Every teacher is assisted in achieving the targeted knowledge and skills to improve learning and teaching. Effective leadership is essential to drive the success of our philosophy, therefore leadership development supports individuals to sharpen their understanding of their role as leaders of learning in the school improvement process.

We aim to implement sustainable school practices that have been observed internationally in successful schools. Teachers and school leaders work as a team to embed routines that nurture instructional and leadership excellence with the tailor made pedagogy that is a way of living. We have many young teachers that are enthusiastic first year teachers who put the training into practice and have grown to play the role of coach for their peers. We make good classroom practice public to enable coaches to share their pedagogical skills throughout the school.

We worked on structured staff training courses and we are able to present training of international standard on various essential teaching matters. If a teacher knows how to prepare brain friendly lessons, he or she can handle discipline and know how to assess, we are halfway there. We submitted the courses that we developed in Hammanskraal for accreditation and are able to award our own professional development points to the in-service training that teachers receive of the courses that were awarded accreditation.

¹ Cole, P Professional Development: A Great Way to avoid Change (IARTV, 2004).

 

Staff Subjects & Grades

nr. Name Surname Job description Email Adress
Management
1 Hannelie Berrange Principal principal@thornview-prestigecol.com
2 Ivy Matlaila Head of Foundation phase Grade 1-4 Setswana deputy.fp@thornview-prestigecol.com
3 Andre Le Roux Head of Intermediate phase Grade 4 A & B English deputy.ip@thornview-prestigecol.com
4 Reinard Bezuidenhout Head of Senior Phase Business Studies FET Gr 12 deputy.sp@thornview-prestigecol.com
5 Lesibana Mahlong Head of FET Phase Gr. 12 Maths deputy.fetp@thornview-prestigecol.com
6 Frans Malepeng Head of Extra curricular and Discipline, Gr. 9A, B, C Maths frans.malepeng@thornview-prestigecol.com
7 Rina du Bruyn Head of Administration, Gr. 11 & 12 Drama rina.dubruyn@thornview-prestigecol.com
8 Lebo Diale Head of Operations lebo.diale@thornview-prestigecol.com
Foundation Phase
9 Berenice Rademeyer Grade 2 A, B, C Maths bernice.rademeyer@thornview-prestigecol.com
10 Bonita van Aardt Grade R bonita.vanaardt@thornview-prestigecol.com
11 Elizabeth Moshokoa Grade 1 B, C, D Maths elizabeth.moshokoa@thornview-prestigecol.com
12 Eunice Portheine Grade 3 C, D English and Life Skills eunice.honeyborne@thornview-prestigecol.com
13 Hantro Botha Grade R-3 Music, Grade 2 & 3 Creative Arts hantro.botha@thornview-prestigecol.com
14 Hestie Grobler Grade 2 C & D English and Life Skills hestie.coetzee@thornview-prestigecol.com
15 Irene Lubuulwa Grade 3 A, B English and Life Skills irene.lubuulwa@thornview-prestigecol.com
16 Khetiwe Zakwe Grade 1 A & B English and Life Skills khethiwe.zakwe@thornview-prestigecol.com
17 Luzelle van Niekerk Grade 3 A, B & 2D Maths luzelle.greeff@thornview-prestigecol.com
18 Monique Koen Grade 1 A Maths, Gr. 1 Creative Arts, Grade 1 A, B, CAfrikaans monique.koen@thornview-prestigecol.com
19 Ofentse Mocoancoeng Grade Pre-R and 000 ofentse.mocoancoeng@thornview-prestigecol.com
20 Tania Riekert Grade R tania.riekert@thornview-prestigecol.com
21 Tanya Strydom Grade 3 C & D Maths, 3 A, B, C Afrikaans tania.strydom@thornview-prestigecol.com
22 Katlego Ramatsui English and Life Skills katlego.ramatsui@thornview-prestigecol.com
23 Mathabo Ntobeng English and Life Skills mathabo.ntoben@thornview-prestigecol.com
24 Tsholofelo Mpshe Grade R tsholofelo.mpshe@thornview-prestigecol.com
Intermediate Phase
24 Chane Schoeman Gr 4 A & B Maths, Gr. 4 A Afrikaans chane.schoeman@thornview-prestigecol.com
25 Clarice Beyers Gr. 5 A, B, 6 Afrikaans clarice.jooste@thornview-prestigecol.com
26 Lucky Chingono Gr. 6 B & C English, Gr. 4 C & 6C Maths lucky.chingono@thornview-prestigecol.com
27 Wilmadi Bester Gr. 4 C Afrikaans, Gr. 5 & 6 Creative Arts wilmadi.bester@thornview-prestigecol.com
28 Marizaan Bezuidenhout Gr. 5 Natural Science Gr. 6 Social Science marizaan.bezuidenhout@thornview-prestigecol.com
29 Nancy Dube Gr. 6 A & B Maths Gr. 6 Natural Science nancy.dube@thornview-prestigecol.com
30 Onika van Zyl Gr. 5 English, Gr. 5 C Afrikaans onika.vanzyl@thornview-prestigecol.com
31 Sipho Ramautswa Gr. 6 A English, Gr. 5 Maths sipho.ramutwa@thornview-prestigecol.com
32 Thilly Radebe Gr. 4 Creative Arts, LO and Natural Science thilly.radebe@thornview-prestigecol.com
Kgothatso Mokgolobotho Gr. 4 C English Gr. 4 & 5 Social Science kgothatso.mokgolobotho@thornview-prestigecol.com
56 Malebogang Segole Gr. 5 & 6 Setwana malebogang.segole@thornview-prestigecol.com
Senior Phase and FET Phase
33 Colette van der Watt Gr. 7 technology & Maths colette.vanderwatt@thornview-prestigecol.com
34 Bella Agoreyo Gr. 9 Natural Science, Gr. 10 B & Key 3 Life Science agoreyo.bendella@thornview-prestigecol.com
35 Andrew Motumba Gr. 10, 11 & 12 Geography andrew.mutomba@thornview-prestigecol.com
36 Godfrey Sebulime Gr. 10, 11 & 12 Physical Science godfrey.sebulime@thornview-prestigecol.com
37 Boipelo Sikhosana Gr. 8, 9, 7 A& B Creative Arts boipelo.sikhosana@thornview-prestigecol.com
38 Tebogo Ntobeng Gr. 7 Natural Science, Afrikaans & Gr. 7C Creative Arts tebogo.ntobeng@thornview-prestigecol.com
39 Constance vom Hagen Gr. 8 Natural Science, Gr. 8 A-D Technology constance.vomhagen@thornview-prestigecol.com
40 Constance Kgantsi Gr. 9 English conny.kgantsi@thornview-prestigecol.com
41 Daniel Retief Gr. 10 Key 3,4 & 6 & Gr. 9 D, E Maths daniel.retief@thornview-prestigecol.com
42 David Igotun Gr. 9 Technology, Gr. 10 Key 5 Maths, Gr. 11 Maths Lit david.igotun@thornview-prestigecol.com
43 Febi Ndlovu Gr. 8 A, B, C & Gr. 10 Key 4 English Gr. 11 LO febi.ndlovu@thornview-prestigecol.com
44 Ilze Potgieter Gr. 10 & 11 Tourism, Gr. 12 Afrikaans ilze.potgieter@thornview-prestigecol.com
45 Jeffrey Jiri Gr. 9 C & 7 EMS, Gr. 10 & 11 Accounting, Gr. 10 Business Studies jeffrey.jiri@thornview-prestigecol.com
46 Kagiso Sebothoma Gr. 11 Maths, Gr. 12 Maths Lit kagiso.sebothoma@thornview-prestigecol.com
48 Marvellous Changara Gr. 9 A, B, D, E EMS, Gr. 11 Business Studies, Gr. 12 Tourism marvellous.shangara@thornview-prestigecol.com
49 Melissa Mc Donald Gr. 9 LO and Afrikaans melissa.mcdonald@thornview-prestigecol.com
50 Mpho Mahlong Gr. 8 Social Science, Gr. 8E Technology, Gr. 10 LO mpho.mahlong@thornview-prestigecol.com
51 Mpho Chepi Gr. 12 English Gr. 12 A LO mpho.chepi@thornview-prestigecol.com
52 Nodumo Nyamela Gr. 7 & 8 D, E English ndumo.nyamela@thornview-prestigecol.com
53 Renate Hattingh Gr. 10 Key 3 & ^ Gr. 8 A,B,C,D Afrikaans renate.hattingh@thornview-prestigecol.com
54 Rhiaan Bezuidenhout Gr. 10 Drama & English Key 2,5 & 6, rhiaan.bezuidenhout@thornview-prestigecol.com
55 Russel Rubwe Gr. 9 & 7 Social Science russel.rubwe@thornview-prestigecol.com
56 Malebogang Segole Gr. 7, 8 Setwana & LO malebogang.segole@thornview-prestigecol.com
57 Simone Sevenster Gr. 11, 10 Key 6 and B Afrikaans simone.sevenster@thornview-prestigecol.com
58 Tawanda Manyimo Gr. 8 Maths tawanda.manyimo@thornview-prestigecol.com
59 Tebogo Mohale Gr. 10,11 & 12 CAT Gr. 10 Key 1 Maths tebogo.mohale@thornview-prestigecol.com
60 Virginia Maubane Gr. 9,10, 11 & 12 Setswana virginia.maubane@thornview-prestigecol.com
61 Angeline Mwase Gr. 11 English angeline.mwase@thornview-prestigecol.com
62 Hellen Mokgata Gr. 10, 11 & 12 Economics, Gr. 8 EMSci hellen.mokgate@thornview-prestigecol.com
63
64 Wilma Bezuidenhout Gr. 10 Key 2, 11 & 12 Life Science wilma.bezuidenhout@thornview-prestigecol.com
Administration Staff
65 Alfred Petja Registration@thornview-prestigecol.com
66 Anna Moloto anna.moloto@thornview-prestigecol.com
67 Dorcas Mokau Finance@thornview-prestigecol.com
68 Mpho Phala admin@thornview-prestigecol.com
69 Tumi Makua Reception@thornview-prestigecol.com
Support Staff
70 Ingrid Baloyi N/A
71 Eunice Kotumela N/A
72 Johanna Ngobeni N/A
73 Johannes Mkhabela N/A
74 Ephenia Malemela N/A
75 Frans Monama N/A
76 Martha Mosana N/A
77 Given Masonganye N/A
78 Brian Mataboge N/A
79 Oupa Nkosi N/A
80 Justice Mashilo N/A
Interns, Assistants and Coaches
81 Katlego Mokae katlego.mokae@thornview-prestigecol.com
82 Mmabatho Sebiloane mmabatho.sebiloane@thornview-prestigecol.com
83 Skosana Mpho N/A
84 Ralph Riba ralph.riba@thornview-prestigecol.com
85 Lebo Pete lebo.pete@thornview-prestigecol.com

Cooperative learning opportunities for learners to internalise new information.

Download training topics and price list for learner and parent talks, staff development workshops and specialised workshops